Salad Days

Summer is finally here and when the sunlight lingers past 8:00 I’m craving the cool wet crispness of a great salad. I’m especially excited about this month’s partnership with Taylor Farms   and Stonyfield Farm yogurt. I was really impressed and inspired with the Spinach Medley mix I got; a mixture of spinach, arugula and radicchio. The arugula in it was especially delish-love the nutty flavor it imparts to salads.

I should confess here that I always have 3 things in my freezer- ice, a frosted beer mug and a bag of frozen organic edamame that mocks me every time I find it buried under something I’m actually going to eat. In theory, I’m a healthy eater. In execution, I’m going for the triple creme, also a mainstay of my fridge, every damn time. Its been 15 months since the edamame first entered the frigid realm of the freezer. I feared it was past it’s prime and was determined to give it a great send off in a salad or with a 5:00 Friday Manhattan. Incredibly, the salad won out.

I should also confess here that I’m a ranch dressing fanatic. Love the stuff. On everything. Since I grow so many herbs I make up a batch on the reg subbing in some Stonyfield Greek plain for buttermilk and thinning out with milk. So good! But I have a new  fave now and it’s an Asian inspired version of ranch. And it’s amazing if I do say so myself.  Don’t take my word for it-try it and let me know what you think.

IMG_5452

Shirataki Noodle salad with Thai Ranch Dressing Oh yesssss

Thai Ranch Dressing-

  • 1/2 cup Greek Whole Milk Plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons coconut milk
  • 1.5 Tablespoons of Mayonnaise
  • 1/2 teaspoon Asian fish sauce or soy sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon Sriracha sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon of fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • pinch of sugar
  • 1.5 tablespoons fresh minced cilantro
  • 1.5 tablespoons of fresh minced Thai or regular basil
  • 1/2 tablespoon of fresh minced mint

Whisk together all ingredients except herbs until well blended. Adjust the consistency with yogurt or coconut milk depending on how u like it. At this point, I pour it in a mason jar, add the fresh herbs, give it a good shake and let it sit for a few hours to develop the flavors.

Shirataki Noodle Salad-

  • 1/2 pkg of Shirataki noodles (usually near tofu if u haven’t had them)
  • 1/2 bag of shelled edamame, about a 1/3 cup
  • 1 carrot julienned, peeled or spiralized. I have a julienned peeler so it makes it easy, whatever way you roll.
  • Toss these with 1 teaspoon each of rice vinegar and soy or fish sauce. Put aside.
  • Slice 1/2 a cucumber into rounds
  • Halve about 1/2 cup of cherry tomatoes
  • Place 2 or 3 handfuls of Taylor Farms Organic spinach medley on a platter. Scatter cucumbers and tomatoes on top of the greens Place seasoned noodles, carrots and edamame on top of everything. Load it up with amazeballzz Thai Ranch dressing and call it a day ❤

IMG_5448

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

